Pietro Domenico Paradisi

Sonatas for Harpsichord (Complete) – CD Box

Filippo Emanuele Ravizza (harpsichord)

2 CD Box 2008 STEREO DDD – Total time: 139:28
Booklet 12 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

CD 1

Sonata I:
1. Allegro
2. Vivace

Sonata II:
3. Andante
4. Allegro

Sonata III:
5. Presto
6. Larghetto e cantabile
7. Fantasia

Sonata IV:
8. Andante
9. Presto

Sonata V:
10. Presto
11. Allegro: Giga

Sonata VI:
12. Vivace
13. Allegro


CD 2
Sonata VII:
1. Allegro
2. Presto

Sonata VIII:
3. Allegro
4. Presto

Sonata IX:
5. Allegro
6. Andante

Sonata X:
7. Vivace
8. Presto

Sonata XI:
9. Moderato
10. Andante

Sonata XII:
11. Allegro
12. Giga: Presto

Concerto for harpsichord:
13. Vivace e staccato
14. Allegro
15. Adagio
16. Allegretto

This recording comprises both volumes of the complete harpsichord works (12 Sonatas as a whole) composed by Paradisi in London in 1754, herein recorded with a pure digital sound.
Paradisi reached great fame as high quality composer, but also as teacher and concert performer.
From a harmonic, melodic and a rhythmic point of view, these Sonatas show very well how the Neapolitan School strongly influenced Paradisi’s style.
As known, this school hasn’t produced just important composers of operas, but also prominent harpsichordists. These are surely refined masterpieces of considerable technical skill demonstrating a real sense of the instrument’s tone, as well as a profound understanding of the instrument’s sound quality.
It is not easy to fully appreciate whether the Complete Work of twelve sonatas have been conceived at the same time, or in different periods. The variety of stylistic references, the cross- references to a typical Neapolitan taste, as well as to a French one, resorting to the technique of Domenico Scarlatti, but even to Johann Christian Bach, would lead us to assume different chronological moments; however it may also be a wisely handled versatility.