G. B. Pergolesi, A. Vivaldi

Stabat Mater

Accademia degli Astrusi, Federico Ferri (conductor), Silvia Frigato (soprano), Sara Mingardo (contralto)

1 CD – Total time: 63:53
Booklet 8 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi
Stabat Mater

1) Stabat Mater dolorosa
2) Cuius animam gementem
3) O quam tristis et afflicta
4) Quae morerebat et dolebat
5) Quis est homo
6) Vidit suum dulcem natum
7) Eja Mater fons amoris
8) Fac ut ardeat cor meum
9) Sancta Mater istud agas
10) Fac ut portem Christi mortem
11) Inflammatus et accensus
12) Quando corpus morietur


Antonio Vivaldi
13) Symphony in B minor RV 169 “Al Santo Sepolcro”


Antonio Vivaldi
Nisi Dominus RV 608
14) Nisi Dominus
15) Vanum est vobis
16) Surgite
17) Cum dederit
18) Sicu sagittae
19) Beatus vir
20) Gloria Patri
21) Sicut erat in principio
22) Amen

Marianism is the fil rouge that unites the world famous compositions presented in this CD. From the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi through the Nisi Dominus and the Sinfonia ‘Al Santo Sepolcro’ by Antonio Vivaldi, it is the Virgin’s lament that guides the two composers in the realization of what are among their most renown and heart felt works. According to a widely known legend, Pergolesi died the day he completed Stabat Mater: but whether true or not, the diffusion of the Stabat was immediate, European-wide and highly acclaimed. This work set the stylistic standards for ‘modern’ sacred music in the Age of Enlightenment for the whole of the West. Performed here under the direction of Federico Ferri by an exceptional cast, which includes Silvia Frigato and Sara Mingardo together with Ferri’s Accademia degli Astrusi, make this live performance from 2010 a masterpiece not to be missed.