Pasquale Anfossi

Sinfonie & Ouverture

Czech National Symphony Orchestra, Alessandro Fabrizi (conductor)

1 CD  – Total Timing: 59:42
Booklet 28 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

1. Artaserse
2. Il Curioso Indiscreto – Primo Movimento

3. Il Curioso Indiscreto – Secondo Movimento

4. Il Curioso Indiscreto – Terzo Movimento
5. La Contadina Incivilita – Primo Movimento
6. La Contadina Incivilita – Secondo Movimento
7. La Contadina Incivilita – Terzo Movimento
8. Alessandro nell’Indie – Primo Movimento
9. Alessandro nell’Indie – Secondo Movimento
10. Alessandro nell’Indie – Terzo Movimento
11. La Didone – Primo Movimento
12. La Didone – Secondo Movimento

13. La Didone – Terzo Movimento

14. Ouverture n.30 – Primo Movimento
15. Ouverture n.30 – Secondo Movimento
16. Ouverture n.30 – Terzo Movimento

17. Ouverture in Mi Bemolle

18. La Vera Costanza – Primo Movimento
19. La Vera Costanza – Secondo Movimento
20. La Vera Costanza – Terzo Movimento
21. Achille in Sciro – Primo Movimento
22. Achille in Sciro – Secondo Movimento
23. Achille in Sciro – Terzo Movimento
24. Antigono – Primo Movimento
25. Antigono – Secondo Movimento
26. Antigono – Terzo Movimento

The world premiere recording of the Symphonies & Ouvertures selection included in the CD occurred in Prague on September 16th 2022 and, through a long and meticulous research work lasted several months, we managed to regather his manuscripts preserved in various libraries from all over the world. The music by Pasquale Anfossi was performed by Czech National Symphony Orchestra conducted by Maestro Alessandro Fabrizi.


Domenico Bonifacio Pasquale Anfossi was born in Taggia, in the province of Imperia, in 1727 and died in Rome in 1797. Amongst the protagonists of the Neapolitan Musical School, Anfossi, together with Tommaso Traetta, Pietro Alessandro Guglielmi and younger Giovanni Paisiello and Domenico Cimarosa, was a composer gifted with remarkable artistic sensibility, he wrote seventy-six works, counting dramas, comic operas and intermezzi. His name is strictly bonded to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, who entrusted the Italian Maestro with considerable admiration, so much that he named him in his letters and was inspired by him to work on some themes: on the occasion of two representations in Vienna in 1783 and 1788, the genius from Salzburg wrote some arias for two of Anfossi’s operas, Il curioso indiscreto (The inappropriate curious) and Le gelosie fortunate (The fortunate jealousies). Listening to the two composers, one could in fact observe significant resemblances: formal models, style of the voice-leading, harmonic coherence and straightforwardness, instrumentation usage knowledge, rhythmic inventiveness, clear and distinct juxtaposition of the thematic ideas, agogic brightness as well as the melodiousness of the andanti. The clear and expressive style of Anfossi, together with lively rhythmic movements and optimal instrumentation, credited him with the fame of being one of the most capable composers of his time.

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

The Czech National Symphony Orchestra currently ranks among the most highly sought-after orchestras in Europe: its  glowing reputation can be attributed to the members’ versatility to perform a wide range of genres spanning classical, film music, jazz as well as musicals. Notable conductors, composers and film directors such as Lalo Schifrin, Hans Zimmer, Quentin Tarantino, Giuseppe Tornatore, and also acclaimed tenors like Andrea Bocelli, Plácido Domingo, José Carreras and Vittorio Grigolo have collaborated with the orchestra; special attention has to go to the longstanding collaboration with the legendary Ennio Morricone. Since 2005 the CNSO is the residential orchestra of the International Music Festival Prague Proms. After a tour in the USA in 2016, where it performed a spectacular Disney Fantasia show, and a European tour in 2017 with film composers Ennio Morricone and James Newton Howard, in 2018 the orchestra had the opportunity to tour Europe with the acclaimed musical La La Land, but above all as part of the Symphonic Cinema project, a tour of the UK featuring a programme of box office Hollywood evergreens, under the baton of conductor Ben Palmer. In 2019 the orchestra went on a promising extended tour of the United States, but in 2020 it was forced to stop due to the global pandemic. After accompanying Plácido Domingo at his performance in the Czech Republic during the summer of 2021, the CNSO collaborated with the world-famous writer and composer Dan Brown performing his “Wild Symphony” in Prague. In April 2022 the orchestra won the Grammy Music Award in the category of best arrangement, instruments and singing for the composition “To the Edge of Longing” from Vince Mendoza’s record “Freedom Over Everything”. This album was recorded with the Czech National Symphony Orchestra in the CNSO Studio; director of orchestra Jan Hasenöhrl was also the initiator of the project and the producer of the record.

Alessandro Fabrizi

The Italian orchestra conductor Alessandro Fabrizi has conducted prestigious orchestras all around Europe, earning numerous and important praises from the audience and international critique. He held concerts in Italy, UK, Germany, South Korea, Mexico and Japan, and conducted among others the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Berliner Symphoniker and the Orchestra del Teatro San Carlo in Naples. He began his musical studies at six years of age in piano and percussions, graduating in the latter with full evaluations at the Conservatory “A. Casella” in L’Aquila. He worked as timpanist in the Orchestra San Carlo in Naples for several years, while collaborating with the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome) and taking part in many soundtrack recordings with famous composer Ennio Morricone and the soloists of the Akademie des Berliner Philharmonisches. He performed also as a soloist with the American composer-pianist Chick Corea in some concerts broadcasted on RAI TV. Through some concerts with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in London, in 2014 he also disseminated the project “Music and Neuroscience”, which aimed to analyse scientifically the effects of music on the human brain. He is the author of the manual Fondamenti di Armonia Tonale e Modale (Foundations of Tonal and Modal Harmonies) and of the book Wagner tra Ideologia e Teatro (Wagner in-between Ideology and Theatre). In 2017 the L.U.I.R.S. (Libera Università Internazionale per la Ricerca Scientifica, Free Scientific Research International University) in Rome entitled him with a master degree honoris causa in Orchestra Conducting and Musicology. Beside his concert activity, he has also held didactic activities in Conservatories “N. Paganini” in Genoa, “G. Martucci” in Salerno and “E. F. Dall’Abaco” in Verona.