Andrea Luchesi

Sinfonie avanti l’Opera

Orchestra da Camera Ferruccio Busoni, Massimo Belli (direttore)

1 CD  – Total time: 50:46
Booklet 10 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

1. L’inganno scoperto
2. L’isola della fortuna
3. Ademira
4. Il matrimonio per astuzia
5. Le donne sempre donne

“Sinfonie avanti l’Opera”: These were true compositions in their own right, which – untethered often from the theatrical affair – served as spectators’ reminders of the performance that was about to take place. Usually divided into three movements according to the tradition belonging to the “Italian school” of the 17th/18th centuries, they circulated in Europe as autonomous pieces, sometimes even reworked. The quality of inspiration is particularly high especially in the slow movements, in which the composer creates poetic tints assimilable to the Venetian taste of the time (represented, for the theater, by Baldassarre Galuppi). And although the stylistic figure does not stray too far from that of Paisiello and Cimarosa, nevertheless Luchesi’s music also shines its own light, gradually breaking free from high craftsmanship to flow into original solutions. A number of Overtures are presented in this Super audio CD recording for the first time.