Sergej Rachmaninov

Piano works for four and six hands

Marco Sollini, Salvatore Barbatano, François-Joël Thiollier

1 CD 2073 – Total time: 68:50
Booklet 12 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

1. Fantasie op.7 – Six morceaux op.11 * WORLD PREMIERE
2. Barcarolle
3. Scherzo
4. Russian Theme
5. Valse
6. Romance
7. Slava
8. Romance in G major
9. Italian Polka – Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky: The Sleeping Beauty
10. Introduction. La Fée des Lilas
11. Adagio. Pas d’action
12. Pas de caractère. La Chat botté et la Chatte blanche
13. Panorama
14. Valse
15. Valse (for six hands)
16. Romance (for six hands)

This CD presents some rare or first recorded piano pieces by Sergei Rachmaninov for four and six hands. Considered as one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century, Rachmaninov carried on the long tradition of Russian piano music for four hands and composed numerous works in the genre. The CD was recorded on the occasion of the chamber music festival ‘Armonie della Sera’, now in its 8th edition, which takes place in the most beautiful locations in the Marche region. Together with Marco Sollini and Salvatore Barbatano, also the French pianist François-Joël Thiollier performs.