Various Composers

Lagrime Mie

Accademia degli Astrusi, Federico Ferri (conductor), Anna Caterina Antonacci (soprano)

1 CD  – Total time: 72:19
Booklet 12 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

Arcangelo Corelli
Concerto grosso in G minor, Op. VI no. 8 “Christmas Concerto” (Amsterdam 1714)
1) Vivace, Grave
2) Allegro
3) Adagio, Allegro, Adagio
4) Vivace
5) Allegro
6) Pastorale

Barbara Strozzi
7) «Lagrime mie, a che vi trattenete?» from Diporti di Euterpe, Op. VII (Venice 1659)

Francesco Geminiani
8) Follia from Concerti grossi (London 1727)

Claudio Monteverdi
9) «Vi ricorda o boschi ombrosi» from L’Orfeo (Mantua 1607)

Henry Purcell
10) Chaconne from The Fairy Queen (London 1692)

Henry Purcell
11) «Thy hand, Belinda … When I am laid in earth» (Dido’s Lament)
from Dido and Aeneas (approx. 1688)

Giambattista Martini
Concerto a quattro pieno in re maggiore (1754)
12) Allegro
13) Andante
14) Allegro

Claudio Monteverdi
15) Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda (Venice 1624) from Madrigali guerrieri et amorosi (Venice 1638)

Georg Friedrich Händel
16) «Lascia ch’io pianga» from Rinaldo (London 1711)

An extraordinary musical journey leads us from Montiverdi’s Mantova to Strozzi’s Venice, from Corelli’s Roma to Martini’s Bologna. From Italy we are then transported to England, the home of Purcell and Händel (who both took influence from the Italian and French models), exploring the very different styles of madrigals, cantatas and opera alongside the concerto grosso, symphonies and dance music. The common theme is the sublime human expression: crying for love.
In the 1600s the ‘lament’, developed into its very own genre just as Dido’s Lament in Dido and Aeneas by Henry Purcell. This tormented adventure is accompanied by exceptional performers: the Accademia degli Astrusi, directed by Federico Ferri, and the extraordinary voice of Anna Caterina Antonacci.