Joaquín Rodrigo

Concierto de Aranjuez

Giulio Tampalini (chitarra), Orchestra Festival Pianistico “Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli”, Pier Carlo Orizio (direttore)

1 CD  STEREO DDD – Total time: 59:34
Booklet 12 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

– Concierto de Aranjuez (Allegro con spirito – Adagio – Allegro gentile)
– Tres piezas españolas (Fandango, Passacaglia, Zapateado)
– Invocacion y danza
– Sonata giocosa (allegro moderato, andante moderato, allegro)
– En los trigales
– Tiento antiguo
– Junto al Generalife

It is the famous Concierto de Aranjuez, by Joaquín Rodrigo, recorded by Giulio Tampalini together with the Orchestra of the Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli International Festival, conducted by Piercarlo Orizio. Tampalini thus takes on one of the most recorded pages ever in the history of discography and a classic with which, sooner or later, all talented guitarists must grapple.
The Concierto de Aranjuez written by Rodrigo in 1939 in Paris and literally carried in his suitcase during his return to his homeland, immediately after the terrible civil war that bloodied Spain and had major consequences on that country for another thirty years at least.
The Concierto is one of those rare compositions of classical music that since the day it was first performed (on November 9, 1940 at the Palau de la Mésica Catalana in Barcelona) has known an undiminished popularity. Opera felix, then, born under the best auspices. As, after all, above all under the sign of belleza y felicidad also unfolded the existence of its creator, blessed with a long life (almost a hundred years), crowned with endless honors and successes, surrounded by deep family affection and affectionate friendships. In this recording, it was preferred to offer listeners a twofold reading key: the Concierto is in fact combined with the listening of some pieces for solo guitar, which belong instead to a more intimate vein of the Sagunto composer, which is decidedly less known.