Various Composers

Baroque Enchantment

Ensamble Chiaroscuro

1 CD  – Total time: 55:33
Booklet 8 pages, Italian/English


Add to cart

Giovanni Paolo Cima (c.1570 – Milan 1622)
1. Sonata a 2
2. Sonata a violino e violone

Pietro Paolo Raimondo (d.1647)
3. Casandra (G.G. Pinardi elaboration)

Girolamo Frescobaldi (Ferrara, 1583 – Rome, 1643)
4. Toccata per spinettina sola over liuto

Dario Castello (c.1590 – c. 1630)
5. Sonata prima a violino e basso
6. Sonata seconda a violino e basso

Captaine Tobias Hume (1569 – 1645)
7. Loves farewell, for bass viol

Michele Mascitti (Chieti 1663 – Paris 1760)
Sonata op. 3 no.10 in a min. for violin and basso continuo
8. Largo et affettuoso
9. Allemanda (allegro)
10. Largo
11. Gavotta
12. Giga

Antonio Vivaldi (Venice 1678 – Vienna 1741)
Sonata op. 2 no. 3 for violin and basso continuo
13. Preludio
14. Corrente
15. Adagio
16. Giga

The term ‘musical journey’ has certainly been used since ancient times, one may think of the exquisite reports of Charles Burney, who travelled through Europe in the 1700s reporting his impressions and collecting manuscripts. This recording of Ensemble Chiaroscuro sees a very authentic and original concert programme, a journey through time and space. From Dario Castello’s stil modern, rich in enthusiasm and exploration, to the eighteenth-century sonatas that are the culmination of that research. A champion, Captaine Hume, who plays the viola evocatively, Italian composers who write in the style of the French and Germans who write in the style of the Italians, precursors of a Europe yet to come, but that in music has never ceased to exist.