Andrea Luchesi – Sacred Music

Andrea Luchesi

(Motta di Livenza, 1741 - Bonn, 1801)

Sacred Music

Nuova Orchestra da Camera Ferruccio Busoni, Coro della Cappella Civica di Trieste, Massimo Belli (conductor), Roberto Brisotto (choir conductor), Laura Antonaz (soprano), Elena Biscuola (mezzosoprano), Luca Dordolo (tenor), Matteo Bellotto (baritone)

1 CD STEREO DDD - Time: 61:07
20 pages Booklet, Italian/English.


Product Description

Orchestral and choir music from XVIII century.

amazon-music  iTunes  spotify  qobuz
1 Salve Regina – Andante, Allegro Molto, Andante 3:36
2 Stabat Mater – Stabat Mater – Andante 7:36
3 Stabat Mater – Sancta Mater – Moderato 4:43
4 Stabat Mater – Quando Corpus – Andante 3:47
5 Kyrie “di Dresda” – Grave 4:24
6 Kyrie “di Dresda” – Lento 2:54
7 Kyrie “di Dresda” – Grave – Allegro 2:06
8 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Miserere mei Deus – Andantino 8:08
9 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Asperges me – Un poco lento 4:48
10 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Cor mundum Crea – Andante 2:56
11 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Redde Mihi – Allegro 3:05
12 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Sacrificium – Andantino 3:49
13 Miserere per soli (SATB) – Tunc imponent – Alla breve 2:07
14 Te Deum – Allegro 2:55
15 Te Deum – Adagio 1:56
16 Te Deum – Allegro 2:17


The recorded compositions in this album, they are attributed with certainty to Luchesi. They were written in the period between 1768 and 1773. The Kyrie in D minor for solo (S.A.T.B.) choir with four mixed voices, orchestra (2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 horns, strings) and organ, is perhaps one of the oldest existant pieces of sacred works by Luchesi: the attentive listener will recognize a melodic phrase of 4 beats, which is played after the introduction by the alto and soprano, which clearly echoes the incipit of the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi, a composer who Luchesi knew very well. Stabat Mater for soloists (S.A.T.B.), four voice choir and orchestra also shows some reminiscences Pergolesi, but Miserere for solo (S.A.T.B.) and choir is the most expansive and inspired in the group of pieces presented here. The purity of the melodic lines and some intentional expressive dissonances make this piece a real gem: it is, no doubt, the pearl of the sacred music definitely written by Luchesi.

Press reviews


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sacred Music”

Cartella stampa