Joaquín Rodrigo

(Sagunto, November 22, 1901 – Madrid, July 6, 1999)

Concierto de Aranjuez – Guitar and Orchestra

Giulio Tampalini (guitar Luìs Arban 1976), Orchestra Festival Pianistico “Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli” di Brescia, Piercarlo Orizio (conductor)

1 CD STEREO DDD - Durata: 59:34
Libretto di 6 pagine it/ingl


COD: 2028-e

Descrizione prodotto

20th century, Guitar

amazon-music  iTunes  spotify  qobuz
1 Concierto de Aranjuez (Allegro con spirito – Adagio – Allegro gentile) 21:01
2 Tres piezas españolas (Fandango, Passacaglia, Zapateado) 11:57
3 Invocaciòn y danza 7:34
4 Sonata giocosa (allegro moderato, andante moderato, allegro) 8:50
5 En los trigales 3:29
6 Tiento antiguo 2:41
7 Junto al Generalife 4:02



This live recording of the very well known Concierto de Aranjuez by Joaquín Rodrigo is very well performed by the talented Italian guitarist Giulio Tampalini and the Arturo Benedetti Orchestra of the International Festival, conducted by Piercarlo Orizio. Tampalini plays some pieces which are certainly the most recorded ones in the music history; they are true classical works which have become an obligatory part of the most talented guitarists’ repertoire.
The Concierto de Aranjuez is certainly one of the most famous concertos of the 20th century. Written in Paris in 1939, Rodrigo literally carried it in his suitcase when he returned to his home country immediately following the Spanish civil war, that terrible and bloody conflict which had such an impact on Spain that its effects lasted for at least another 30 years.
The Concierto is one of those rare classical compositions that has enjoyed popular success from its first performance (November 9th, 1940 at the Palau de la Mésica Catalana in Barcelona).
An Opera felix born under a lucky star. Much the same as the life of its creator, all considered, who lived a long, almost centenarian life under the sign of belleza y felicidad, blessed with endless honours and successes, surrounded by a sincere and loving family and the affection of friends. The Concierto is coupled with a few pieces of music for solo guitar, which are part of another, more intimate, certainly lesser known side of this composer from Sagunto, offering the audience a second perspective.

Artwork: Francisco Goya, The Ballon, part.

Cartella stampa